PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

phred

Lifer
Dec 11, 2012
Mentioned this briefly in my new member intro post, but since there's a specific place for it, here goes...
My first experience at Prince Phillip's was overwhelmingly positive. They have a smoking lounge near the back, and their ventilation system doesn't quite erase all of the secondhand smoke odor, but the main scents are the pipe and cigar odors that are much more pleasant. The sales folk left me alone to wander for a while as I looked over the racks of pipes for sale and checked out the bulk tobacco bar, and just about the time I thought maybe I should ask for some help, one of them (Brian, I think his name was) appeared at my elbow to see if I needed anything.
I explained that I was a complete novice, but had developed an interest in learning to smoke a pipe. Brian invited me to handle the pipes and steered me toward the section matching my price point, and then said to come grab him once I'd made a selection and we could talk about tobacco. I checked several styles, and eventually settled on a Viking Classic sitter - it was one of the few that actually "sat" when empty. Then I wandered over to the bulk tobacco, where another sales person (the daughter of the owners, I later found out, though I can't recall her name) gave me a copy of their blend list (with mail order options, etc.) and started in on descriptions of the various blends. Brian joined us about four descriptions in, and after the three of us discussed our various tastes in music, beer, and Scotch, they recommended a couple of aromatics as starter blends, invited me to fill up my soon-to-be-purchased pipe with something to test, and then left me to make my decision. I rejoined them at the accessories counter, where they produced the ubiquitous Czech pipe tool, an IMCO G55 lighter, and a bundle of pipe cleaners. After a few pointers about packing and lighting, I made my purchase and finished off what turne