PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

tpollock

Might Stick Around
Oct 1, 2013
I'm still relatively new to pipe smoking, only 2-3yrs. I started smoking a pipe with aromatics trying to quit cigarettes. Over the last couple of months I have been doing tobacco reviews for Sutliff. It seems like the more blends I try, the more I find myself liking the straight tobacco blends (non aromatic). I can't do the Latakia no matter how hard I try, my tastes just rebel against it. I feel unqualified to be doing reviews to start with, but was asked to do so anyway and I really enjoy doing them. Two of my favorite non aromatics are Prince Albert and Carter Hall and I find myself mixing these with my aromatics to get a better burn and a more pleasing taste to me. Can any one tell me more about these two tobaccos? Are they mostly Virginia or Burley, do they have any casings, etc. I appreciate any info and help as I strive to learn more about tobacco in general and hope to be a better reviewer.

Thanks,

Tim

petes03

Lifer
Jun 23, 2013
The Hills of Tennessee
I believe Carter Hall is a straight Burley, I could be wrong. Prince Albert is mostly Burley, with some Virginia and a little Turkish, If I remember correctly. Smoked straight, I prefer CH, but PA is good straight too! I mix PA 50/50 with Smoker's Pride for a blend I call "Fat Albert". It's just a good, cheap, no frills, easy to mix smoke. You might also want to try Half&Half, it's a good Old Codger blend as well, it's also completely different than CH or PA.

tpollock

Might Stick Around
Oct 1, 2013
Thanks for the reply petes03! I started to buy a pouch of Half and Half today actually. I'll give it a try. I'm still trying to learn what the different basic tobaccos flavors are. For example what plain Virginia or plain Burley taste like so that I'll be better able to understand what taste/flavor I detect in the blends I review.

Thanks again for the reply!

Tim

taerin

Lifer
May 22, 2012