PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

jfred

Starting to Get Obsessed
Apr 30, 2018
I've been smoking pipes for 7-8 months now, aquired several nice pipes and enough tobacco to last me several years at my current rate.

I love trying new tobaccos, and rarely tries a blend I really don't like. This leaves me with a current selection of 20-25 "favorites" for my rotation. Now, I could try to limit myself to a few blends at a time, but right now I really like the variety and continue to try new blends :puffy:

This leads to my question:

Will a blend stay tasty in a mason jar if opened once every one or two months to fill a pipe? Will it be ok for years or even decades? I know some interesting aging processes will probably stop, but I'm mostly looking to preserve flavor.

I do have some blends I jarred 4-5 months ago, that tastes great, but as my rotation grows I'm curious if this will go downhill at some point.

Thanks in advance for any replies.

bluto

Part of the Furniture Now
Aug 24, 2018
Something I wonder about also ..
Is it wise to finish up the opened jar , or resealing is ok ?

smittyd

Part of the Furniture Now
Feb 7, 2018
Pennsylvania
As long as you have a good seal on your jars, the tobacco should last for years. Some blends like Aro's or Latakia blends will lose some of their flavor over time though.

seanv

Lifer
Mar 22, 2018
Canada
Very important to keep a good seal as stated above. Also store the jars in the most temperature and humidity neutral area as possible.

Some blends like Aro's or Latakia blends will lose some of their flavor over time though.

Unless you plan to keep the jars for 10, 20 or so years, I wouldn't worry about that. The short answer is yes, the flavors will be fine until you can get the whole thing smoked. If you are curious about loooooong term storage in a cellar (I took it that you weren't interested in this) then it gets tricky.