PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

flyguy

Lifer
Nov 20, 2012
I must admit I like the taste of Full Virginia Flake (FVF) but it is a pain in the arse (PITA) to prepare. Last night I chose the last flake in the tin and it was dry to the touch. I cubed it and tried to lite it. This stuff is darn-near fire proof. It wouldn't lite at all. I removed it from the bowl of my gourd Calabash and placed it in a cupcake holder and set it under a lamp for 1/2 hour. I reloaded the Calabash with the same results. Is this tobacco or asbestos? I repeated this technique twice with similar results. I finally got a bit of a char light and went to bed. This morning, after some coaxing, I am smoking FVF with satisfaction.

My question is to the FVF Hardened Campaigners out there. What is your secret for prepping this inflammable tobacco?

flakyjakey

Lifer
Aug 21, 2013
I know many cube cut it, I don't. I have been smoking Full Virginia Flake for more than ten years. I rub it out (not always an easy rub because it is often moist/sticky from the tin, less so in bulk). I rub it out and 'fluff it' on the prep board. I then leave it for up to an hour before carefully loading the bowl, not too tight nor too loose.
I rarely have any problems and need very few relights with this method. The same goes for Best Brown Flake, which can cause problems similar to those you describe if you use other methods.
These two tobaccos in my opinion are among the best in the world; they are not the easiest to prepare but I do not believe you need to suffer major difficulties.

dragonslayer

Lifer
Dec 28, 2012
Pittsburgh