PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

mctygart

Lurker
May 30, 2013
Let me begin by saying that I'm new to the world of smoking pipes. I am very curious about all aspects though. I friend introduced me to it and like a moth to flame, I dove in.
Awhile back I pick up a lot of estate pipes on eBay. My plan was to introduce a few friends from my home town when I visited. So buying a few estate pipes in what ever condition seemed like a decent way to let us all smoke at once. The plan worked great other then having to relight their pipes every few minutes.
Now I'm left with an assortment of pipes. None look like they will every be worth much but they may serve as good practice for restoring. Even if they never turn out perfect whats the harm in making your mistakes on these pipes?
My first victim in the attempt to resurrect the fallen is a Yellow-Bole. (I'll upload some detailed pictures later)

But be warned that at first glance, at least in my opinion it seems helpless but like I keep saying, what's the harm?
FIrst real question here is. How do I go about sanding down the outside?

There seems to be no deep dents, just worn of finish.
Second. What about reaming the bowl?

This is the part that worries me. It looks terrible, I don't know if its heavy cake or what. I have never een a pipes with heavy and I'm not sure I could describe cake to anyone. Remember I'm still new?
Third, and least important. How, if possible, do I shine up the stem?

I have seen a few other pages about this that I plan to check out but I'm throwing it out there anyway.
Thank you for taking the time to read this! I would appreciate any feed back. I plan to keep posting pictures to keep those interested up to speed.
Once again thank you!
Mctygart.

numbersix

Lifer
Jul 27, 2012