Drucquers Banner

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

oneiric

Lurker
Dec 23, 2018
I've been smoking pipes for almost two years, and still consider myself an amateur on nearly every level. I infrequently smoke, maybe once or twice a month. With spring being here, I've started to smoke once or twice a week. I've just begun to develop my good habits. Packing less aggressively, managing tamping, draw, and preventing the pipe from bubbling fairly well. My tempo has gotten a lot better, cooler smoke and less moisture than what I started with. I've got a couple of briars in my collection. Recently, I picked up a nice, smooth Peterson saddle-stemmed billiard lovat. I feel like this one is going to be my favorite for years. I love everything about it.
I decided to have my first smoke from it and chose a mellow, aged cube-cut tobacco. I filled the bowl 2/3rds of the way and went to town on it. Smooth, mellow smoke all the way down to the bottom of the bowl. I found it a bit difficult to keep the bowl lit, being new to the tiny cubes. I found that it let out a lot more moisture than what I was used to. I used a few cleaners throughout the smoke to sop up some of it before it made its way too far into the stem. Overall, I kept at it until I reached the bottom, careful to pay attention to the heat as it made it's way down.
I could hear what I thought were the cubes sizzling a bit after I took a long, cool draw. I hadn't really packed it given the shape and density of the cubes, and instead tapped the edge to settle them down into the bowl before lighting it. In the end, I loosened the ash and tapped out mostly powdery, white ash. I left the thin coating on the inside of the bowl, wiped the rest off of the rim, swabbed out the stem, and let it rest for a couple of days.