PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

earthbound

Might Stick Around
Oct 12, 2015
Hello all, just a general question here about the proper fit between a mortise and a tenon here. Should a tenon be able to go into the mortise far enough so that the face of the tenon touches the bottom of the mortise? The first pipe I bought has a mortise about 1" deep, yet the length of the tenon is roughly a half inch. I'm no expert on pipe making but my first attempt at a freehand resulted in a flush contact between the face of the tenon and the bottom of the mortise. It smokes light years drier than my first pipe. Is this massive void causing condensation to form and drip back into the bowl? I'd gladly do some work on it if this is a problem that needs to be fixed. For reference, the pipe is a lathe turned billiard style John Aylesbury Nielson.

Nowadays, we expect the tenon to completely fill up the mortise, but thirty years or so ago, they were just cranking out pipes. So, the fit on older pipes is more random. Yes, this large void inside the pipe causes turbulence, which causes the water to condolence. Try smoking it slower. The harder the draw, the more significant the reduction. Also, keep pipe cleaners on hand to run down the draft to get the moisture out.

earthbound

Might Stick Around
Oct 12, 2015
I've been slowing my smoke down quite a bit since I've started, but I just can't seem to get it dry. Virginias and aromatics alike just pool up at the bottom. I'd find myself going through a dozen pipe cleaners on average for a one hour smoke. Is it crazy to simply shave off part of the shank so that the tenon fits deeper in?

aldecaker

Lifer
Feb 13, 2015
Not if you want a shorter pipe, I guess. It might be easier to fabricate a shim of sorts to take up the gap instead of hacking off part of the shank. I am visualizing something akin to the Savinelli "I don't like filters" adapter, just cut shorter.

anarchisthermit

Might Stick Around