PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

larry127

Lurker
Mar 12, 2016
Hi,
I'm new to pipe smoking, currently own a bent pipe BIGBEN starter kit, thought of getting a poker pipe ..appreciate if anyone able to provide some info. Myself hv Google around for Stanwell and Savinelli... which brand does a better workmanship?..thank you

lochinvar

Lifer
Oct 22, 2013
Welcome to the forum. Both Savinelli and Stanwell are good. I prefer Savinelli myself, but both will provide a good smoke.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
Welcome aboard. Both Savinelli and Stanwell make pokers in various series and price ranges, as does the Sav sub-brand Rossi. Most Sav's come with a balsa filter and all will take an adaptor to smoke without a filter, or if you can smoke a pretty open draw, just leave the filter out. Both Sav and Rossi have series without filters. You can get either brand in lower priced series for around $50, on through $100 or into the hundreds. For Stanwells, start shopping at pipesandcigars for best prices. For Savenelli and Rossi, I like smokingpipes. Stanwells are mostly not filtered, but be sure you check to see.

tuold

Lifer
Oct 15, 2013
Beaverton,Oregon
I like my Stanwell poker Brushed black (207) very much and recommend it without reservation. It's comfortable to clench and performs very nicely. Economical, too. Problem is I don't see any in stock at any the usual retailers. Like mso says, the Savinellis are a very good bet as well.

larry127

Lurker
Mar 12, 2016
Thank you all! Very informative!
Deciding whether to get the Savinelli poker 311KS or the Stanwell 207 . Hmmm...

johnnyiii

Can't Leave
Nov 30, 2013
hertford nc
I like the new Sav poker (I think 311 is its number) it's just a bit to small for me in length. The briar works line I think it's in their icarus series has a real nice one two. And although a hot one it to is a bit short... but I like it!

tarheel1

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 16, 2014