PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

nardzorb

Might Stick Around
Mar 19, 2014
Contemplated the 'what if I could' make a pipe out of PoP, my research on the possibility is a quick net search, found out PoP was used to 'burn out proof' corn cob pipes, and just from looking it appears a few bowls are made with it, but I am not sure, need further reading on the subject.
My thought are that I could make a stem hole and inner bowl shape from wax inside a mould, then when dry and cured the wax could be melted out, then the PoP could be coated in some sort of hardener, what ever that could be. Or I could grease up some objects in the shape of the inner pipe cavities?
Thoughts on this?

I am new to this, I have used a pipe, but not necessarily for pipe tobacco, I used to regularly smoke cigars but I need something different, I have pipe tobacco on the way, but I have not built me a pipe yet, going to make a maple wood pipe.
Thanks suckers, er... pipe suckers.

anglesey

Can't Leave
Jan 15, 2014
Can't see why not. I'd let it well dry first though, and probably coat the inside of the bowl well with something to protect against any deterioration in the plaster of paris. perhaps that pre-carbonised coverings that some bowls come with that are supposed to mean you don't have to break it in.

nardzorb

Might Stick Around
Mar 19, 2014
Perhaps the inner bowl could be coated in something like honey to help carbonize it?

anglesey

Can't Leave
Jan 15, 2014
I'm not sure about honey, i dont know how the sugars in the honey would react with the gypsum. Though I'm really no expert in plaster of paris, I've seen them go dry and powdery, and I'd be reluctant to use anything that wasnt totally inert, so to speak, like carbon.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
I think of Plaster of Paris as being a somewhat fragile material. I think this pipe might make an interesting