PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

will346

Lurker
Nov 30, 2015
Hi guys. Again, asking for help from those wiser and more experienced than me! I just completed sanding a pipe and re-finishing with fiebings leather dye. I then bought caranuba wax flakes which I melted and tried to apply to the pipe. Try not to laugh! Anyway that was a disaster. So, I tried smoking the pipe as is and ended up with the dye coming off on my hand as I'm smoking. So, I'm wondering does anyone know where I can get a suitable caranuba wax paste, that doesn't have any additives or other gunk that I can use to finish the pipe? As I'm based in Ireland, somewhere in the UK (including amazon) would be best as shipping would be no problem. Thanks for the help.

gerryp

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 8, 2018
Arabi, LA
I'm pretty new to this myself, but Most people who use carnauba get the same thing you bought but in bar form. It has to be applied with some kind of polishing device, e.g. a drill, bench grinder, or Dremel.
I have read that some people like to use Paragon or Halcyon II instead of carnauba. I haven't tried either yet.
You can try Kiwi neutral shoe polish, which I think has carnauba in it. I tried it once, and while it didn't get as shiny as real carnauba, it gave the pipe a softer sheen, satin as opposed to mirror.
You might be able to melt those pellets into some kind of bar that could be used with a polishing tool.
You can also do what a bunch of pipe manufacturers do, which is spray it with lacquer and call it a day. Idk exactly what lacquer to use though.

seanv

Lifer
Mar 22, 2018
Canada
Paragon and halcyon wax will do the trick. Do not be discouraged, you’ve made through the most difficult steps. The wax part is easy.

alexnc

Oct 25, 2015
Southeast US