PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

tad86

Lurker
Apr 7, 2014
I'm fairly new to pipes (and to these forums) so I've only smoked so far on my balcony in my flat which is covered and a great place to smoke.
However, I went home this weekend to my parents' house and there's nowhere good outside to smoke. And in the wind & the rain this made it quite a pain to enjoy some quiet time with my pipe and the rain constantly trying to put out my matches/lighter/pipe.
Any tips from those outdoor smokers who often have to put up with the weather trying to drench them and their tobacco?

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
I don't think of smoking in the rain. You can't really juggle an umbrella, and you can't get enough

shelter under a tree or even with a wind cover on the pipe. There's probably an answer, but it will

take some doing, or scouting around. Buy your folks an awning? But them a freestanding screened

dining tent? Find a nearby garage or porch where you'd be welcome? Smoke in your car? And so on.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
foggymountain, now you know we are all dying to try this. Better let us know now if you were

kidding. Seems like the tobacco would burn too fast having the heat moving upward. Seems

like you could end up with a shoe full of embers, rain or no rain.

sallow

Lifer
Jun 30, 2013
As a kid I would duck hunt with my dad and he would smoke his pipe upside down in the rain. I wouldn't try it with a Dunhill but it can be done.

buster

Lifer
Sep 1, 2011
That thunder storm pipe is cool! I have seen these hurricane briars on ebay from time to time but have yet to win one. So until then a little metal wind cap will do.
http://www.smokingpipes.com/pipes/estate/england/moreinfo.cfm?product_id=80907

ssjones

Staff member
May 11, 2011
Maryland
postimg.cc