Drucquers Banner

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

stephenw

Might Stick Around
Nov 14, 2014
WV
I have been smoking a pipe for over 44 years now. I think of myself as a rather heavy pipe smoker, it is rare when I do not have a pipe stuck in my ugly mug. Over the past 44 years every doctor I have had has told me that pipe smoking was going to damage my heart. Well, about 3 weeks ago I began suffering from chest pains. These were the textbook heart problem pains, so I went to my doctor who sent me to a cardiologist. I was scheduled for a cardio cath, and I had that done today. The doctor who did the cath was certain that he was going to find problems due to my symptoms and the fact that I have smoked for so many years. Well, when he came to deliver his findings he shook my hand and said "Congratulations." It seems that not only has there been no damage done to my heart from all this smoking, my heart is as healthy as a teenager's heart. Not too shabby for a 62 year old guy who has not taken the best of care. Granted I still have the chest pains, but the doctor I had today told me that it most likely was not too dangerous. I am not saying that pipe smoking is harmless to everyone, but I now have proof in black and white that my heart has not been damaged from smoking for 44 years and I will tell every doctor who tries to make me quit that I have no intention of ever setting aside my pipe.

seadogontheland

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 4, 2014
I need to send this to my ex who hounded me for years...wait a sec...we're divorced now...doesn't matter :)

davidintexas

Jun 4, 2013
Congratulations on a good report from the doc. That is great news. Also, welcome to the forum. Glad to have you. 44 years, huh? Wow, that's a long time. Probably as long as Condorlover but without the extreme age and eccentrity :nana:

agnosticpipe

Lifer
Nov 3, 2013
In the sticks in Mississippi