PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

iooss

Lurker
May 18, 2016
So I'm relatively new to pipe smoking and I'm hoping someone on this forum can help me or possibly has as similar issue as me. Besides enjoying the occasional pipe smoke I also suffer from Asthma, Broncial Asthma to be specific. Lately when I smoke I find that I develop phlegm and a cough that lasts about a day after. I don't need medical advice, my question is can this be a product of the specific tobacco I'm smoking. Lately I've been smoking Captain Black and I'm just curious if other people have found that certain tobaccos have a negative reaction to them. Or maybe I should just try a milder tobacco.

zack24

Lifer
May 11, 2013
....even if you don't inhale, you still end up inhaling to some degree...I developed asthma from over exposure to rosewood dust many years ago. I usually only smoke every couple of weeks- no problems. When we're on vacation and I smoke daily, I have issues...-tightness of chest, coughing, etc...

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
Asthma triggers are a mystery. Asthma isn't an allergy, as allergy is understood, but shares some aspects. If you respond, it is probably a trigger. There's a major science prize waiting for the researcher who defines the mechanisms of asthma.

shikano53

Lifer
May 26, 2015