Tags:  No tags yet. 

Pipe Resting?

(39 posts)
  • Started 5 years ago by mcluvinmypipe
  • Latest reply from txbeerboy
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

mcluvinmypipe

Login to Send PM

I am still a newbie and I have 2 pipes I like to use.I smoke quite a few bowls a day 5-6.I read and hear pipe smokers talk about letting the pipe rest for a considerable amount of time before lighting it up again.I always clean my bowl when I am done or let my pipe cool off for a later smoke if there is half a bowl left.I do not have enough pipes to let them rest.I like to smoke them.I variate according to what I like to smoke.One of my pipes is for English blends and the other for Virginias and aromatics.I do not have enough pipes to avoid ghosting and not enough pipes to let them rest through a rotation.Am I missing out on something good?Am I shortenig the life of my pipes by not letting them rest long enough?I am trying to get a few more pipes together but I do not think I am organized enough and I smoke to often to let them rest.Could someone maybe share their experiences with not letting their pipes rest or maybe help explain why pipe resting is important thank you for your input.

--------------------------
    Thanks for being a member and participating.

Thread title fixed.

Please see rule 9 here along with the rest of the forum rules

- Kevin
    --------------------------

Posted 5 years ago #
  2. numbersix

numbersix

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

I have one pipe that I wasn't resting enough. It definitely reached a point where it smoked poorly. I don't know for sure, but even after resting it for a week, it still performs poorly compared to it's well rested days.

It's always best to rest - but as always, your mileage may vary. I've heard of old timers who would smoke the heck out of one pipe and never worry about it. you may want to consider adding some cobs to the rotation.

"Be seeing you"

Posted 5 years ago #
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar