PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

excav8tor

Can't Leave
Aug 28, 2010
South Devon, England
I have been restoring estate pipes for a few months now and have had some good sucesses, mixed in with some disasters. As someone new to pipe resoration I took advice from these very forums and only practised on very cheap pipes.
I am now at the stage where I can ream and sweeten the bowl and shank, remove dinks and scratches and also cleaning, reshaping and polishing stems. I can also strip back the surface, restain and polish to a mirror finish. I have as a consequence some really nice looking pipes.
However, I have also got some pipes that have split bowls, some hairline, others with large cracks. I have looked all over the internet for advice and methods of repairing cracks and splits, but have seen nothing save telling me to send it to a professional repairer. Now I can understand sending a £300 pipe to a professional, but when the pipe only has a limited value and I do not know how it smokes, I don't want to send it off only to have it returned to me as a bum steer. But more tHan that, I quite like the idea of being able to restore fully any kind of pipe that comes my way in the future.
Does anyone have any advice or methods of repairing splits and cracks, or can point me in the direction of a website that deals with the subject?

unclearthur

Lifer
Mar 9, 2010
Smaller cracks in pipes of minimal value I have repaired with epoxy and briar sanding dust. This works fairly well for cracks that do not extend into the chamber it's self. Big cracks I usually give the bowl a nice Christian burial.

robs

Starting to Get Obsessed
Sep 1, 2010