PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

captaincob

Lurker
Nov 27, 2015
I've been smoking a pipe for about 6 months now, and I've never got any kind of effect resembling anything that people describe as "tongue bite" at any time, no matter how hard and hot I smoke. Never had any issue with my tongue or mouth at all. But, I do occasionally receive a different kind of unpleasant side effect. I like to smoke my pipes down to the bottom, usually (I was raised never to waste nuthin'!), and once in a while, down at the very bottom of the pipe, I get this very intense and painful sensation in my throat and chest, which I can only describe as being a cross between heartburn and nausea. It burns in my chest, at the base of my throat like heartburn, and I suddenly get queasy like I'm ALMOST nauseous. My mouth begins to salivate and I start to swallow impulsively, like I do when I get nauseous. It's not QUITE nausea, but it leaves me worried that I'm about to get that way. Does anyone else every get this feeling? It doesn't seem to make a difference whether I'm using one of my cobs or my briar, and I haven noticed it happening more with one type of tobacco then another (although the choices are very limited around here, and so I almost always stick with Captain Blacks, which I don't mind at all, even though I suspect it's what would be considered strongly "aromatic" and thus prone to cause bite). It does seem somewhat more common if the pipe has burned hot, like when it's windy outside, but that's not universal. It would be nice to know what this effect is and if there is any way to avoid risking it other than emptying my pipe out before all the tobacco is burned up. I guess it might have something to do with nicotine or other chemicals coating the inside of my throat and making it burn, or for some reason I'm getting the same exact effect as tongue bite, only for some reason in my throat and not my tongue. It's really unpleasant, and kind of ruin