PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

sparrowhawk

Lifer
Jul 24, 2013
I recently got a wonderful billiard that smoked great, but after two weeks it didn't seem to smoke so well. Then, by chance, I saw light showing through the chamber: the pipe didn't just crack, but it burned through into a large hole. The vendor exchanged the pipe, somewhat reluctantly, but I'm wondering how often this kind of burn through happens: freak occurance of a bad selection of briar? Will this happen to the exchaged pipe? I hope not, because it is truly a unique billiard, a H&H Signature pipe, quite huge.

papipeguy

Lifer
Jul 31, 2010
Bethlehem, Pa.
I'd say that's pretty rare. You never really know what's inside the briar. As I understand it the H&H series is being made by Kaywoodie. They make good pipes and I'm sure a replacement will be fine.

wilson

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 17, 2013
That's most unfortunate. I have no firsthand experience -- none of the pipes I've had ever had a problem like that. It seems rare, else I'd expect more posts about such on this forum. Every once in a while there is a post about a burn through, but with all the pipes owned by all of the members here it seems there are very few posts about burn through. A flaw in the briar seems the most likely explanation. As far as I know, no one x-rays or does a sonogram before they leave the shop/factory so a soft spot or a void could go unnoticed. You're an experienced pipe smoker, so I very much doubt it was you. I'll go out on a limb and guess that you were not lighting your pipe with an acetylene torch? Probably a defect in the briar, not the way the pipe was made, so I'd be stunned if the same happens to the replacement. Here's hoping that the replacement pipe smokes like a champ and brings you many years of good service.

buroak

Lifer
Jul 29, 2014