PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

klyph76

Lurker
Dec 10, 2016
Louisville, KY
Hello all!
Just bought my first pipe last week, a Peterson Fermoy 999. Unfortunately, after about half a dozen uses small blisters started to appear on the bowl. They've multiplied since. I realize that I'm new at this and that I may have overheated the bowl a bit, but for $130 I feel like there shouldn't be any blistering! Has anyone else had any experience with this? Any recommendations on what I should do? Can I expect a refund or exchange?

aldecaker

Lifer
Feb 13, 2015
I would certainly think you should be able to get refund or exchange. Bubbling is from a crappy finish job, whether it is a $30 Grabow or a $300 artisan pipe.

davet

Lifer
May 9, 2015
Estey's Bridge N.B Canada
I've got a Fermoy that developed a blister when new, a year later it hasn't developed any more. Contact the seller and provide pictures.
Almost forgot, be prepared for the usual Peterson bashers :roll:

wyfbane

Lifer
Apr 26, 2013
Tennessee
Bubbling isn't super common, but it happens.
So long as you got it from a reputable seller you should have no problems getting it replaced. Peterson is pretty good about replacements.
Best of luck!

aldecaker

Lifer
Feb 13, 2015
I did the same thing lighting one of my Stanwells in too much of a breeze. It was totally my fault, and I was pissed at myself for quite a while!

Chasing Embers

Captain of the Black Frigate
Nov 12, 2014
If you can't get an exchange, next time you smoke it, and it gets warm, buff the bubbled area with a T-shirt to flatten it out.

zack24

Lifer
May 11, 2013
Pete's and many others have a heavy finish- if you smoke them hot, some will have bubbles,...smoke it slowly...and cool-problem solved!!

mawnansmiff

Lifer
Oct 14, 2015
Sunny Cornwall, UK.
I have a new Butz Chochin that has some odd looking black finish to it. This too bubbles when smoked and one can actually move those bubbles about by pressing on them!