PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

briarorbust

Lurker
May 5, 2019
Hi there
I’m relatively new to pipe smoking (about 8 months) and am loving it. I’ve got a couple of cheaper pipes but I’m looking to buy myself something a little bit more special. I’m fancying a bent bulldog and have currently narrowed it down to two, Peterson Aran 80s and a Vauen Empire.
I was just wondering which of the two brands people feel is the better buy? I realise every pipe is differs, but was wondering if there is any marked difference in quality between the two brands? Are you psying simply for the brand or do the prices reflect quality?
I tend to prefer 9mm filter pipes and have found 9mm versions of each.
Any information would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance

daniel7

Part of the Furniture Now
Sep 11, 2018
Balatonalmádi, Hungary
I have only bad experiences with Petersons and only good with Vauen. Maybe I'm just unlucky, but I think Vauen is a more reliable brand quality-wise than Peterson by the overall reviews.

Jan 8, 2013
I have 15 Petersons. No issues, other than I'm not a big fan of their newest bowl coating.
Edit to add: Make that 16. But my 2019 pipe of the year hasn't arrived in the mail yet :wink:

daniel7

Part of the Furniture Now
Sep 11, 2018
Balatonalmádi, Hungary
That’a good to know. What kind of issues have you had?
My Donegal Rocky bent bulldog was whistling as a steamtrain and nothing helped on it so I had to sell it. The other one I still have is a Sherlock Watson, it is overdrilled and always gurgles no matter how and what I smoke in it. As I said, maybe it is only my luck, Anthony has no problems.