PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

4dotsasieni

Part of the Furniture Now
Jan 6, 2013
This is my first attempt at a "serious" tobacco review, and I'm certainly no expert, so please take all this with several grains of salt:
Pipe: a Peterson Flame Grain #B10 flared bent with P-lip.
First Impressions: The tobacco was surprisingly moist in the tin, which led to some gurgling problems in the smoke.

The char light brought immediate pleasant notes of Latakia, both in the taste and aroma.
Smoking on, other than the gurgling, a nice, sweet mellow, cool smoke; strong nutty flavours, especially on "retro-haling" through the nose. A very satisfying smoke.
I think, after a bit of drying, this may become my favourite "English-style" blend.

judcole

Lifer
Sep 14, 2011
Detroit
Old Dublin is the True Path. :D
Seriously, it is one blend that is always in my rotation. If I do not have a tin open, it's because I've finished the last one, and haven't gotten around to opening a new one yet.

You can keep all the 965, and London Mixture, EMP, Standard Medium, Nightcap, Squadron Leader, and ALL of the Frogs, all of which get raved about more, TYVM. If I have my Old Dublin, I know I can reach for it any time and be happy. :puffy:

bentmike

Lifer
Jan 25, 2012
I've said it before and I'll say it again I'm with Jud. Old Dublin is Awesome. It's my favorite English blend. That said I have been enjoying Mac Baren's Plum Cake. I suggest giving it a try especially if you like the Mac Baren blends.

judcole

Lifer
Sep 14, 2011
Detroit
As you can tell,guys, I love the stuff. I fell in love the first time I opened a tin, and smelled the basma.
Give it a shot, PP. It's not a knock-your-socks-off blend, but a very solid, all-day sort of lat blend, with no added attractions. It's Peterson's only latakia blend, and they did it right.

May 3, 2010
Las Vegas, NV
Peterson is releasing a Balkan Blend sometime soon.