PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

saltedplug

Lifer
Aug 20, 2013
I've been smoking the pipe for 13 years, and over the course of time I have heard Pease's work lauded by many, but for some reason, though I loved "Cumberland," I never really gave his other blends a good try. But my gaze has now centered much more on his blends, and as I smoke more of them, new favorites occur, namely "Chelsea Morning" and "Quiet Nights." I was going to say that I find them much alike, with "Q. Nights" the larger of the two. I fantasied that they had been released one after the other, but that is not true. "C. Morning" was released in 10/2009 and "Q. NIghts" in 05/2010. It may be true that they share enough of a common blend to say they are thus linked, but whether or not that is true, my palate says that it is.
These blends achieve a savoriness that call to be tasted again, soon. The tobaccos in "C. Morning" are more piquant.
I've written elsewhere about how crazy I am about "Gaslight," easily my favorite latakia blend, at least while I'm smoking it. When I smoke the other two blends in the thread title, or "Nightcap" or "Crown Achievement," I am wowed by them and that claim for the singular greatness of "Gaslight" recedes into the back round.
I find both benefiting from an alliance between the VAs and Orientals. This subtly alters the VAs' taste, pushing them into the realm of deliciousness. Both have enough latakia to satisfy that jones.
I don't know what blending technique has been used to present the latakia in "Gaslight"; suffice it to say that this is the richest, deepest, tastiest latakia that I've smoked. Absolutely enrapturing. Its Orientals would seem to work more closely with the latakia than the VA. The Orientals make a statement that can't be ignored in "Gaslight" whereas they are more integrated in the other two blends.