PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

bearwolf56

Might Stick Around
Mar 16, 2013
Burlington, North Carolina
For those who like and smoke Half and Half pipe tobacco, can you tell me the best way to pack and smoke it to get the most enjoyment from smoking it? The reason I ask is I've been smoking H&H for a while and do like it but still have problems keeping it lit. I don't pack it too tight but someone suggested that I pack it loose which only makes trying to keep it lit even worse.
Also for those who've been smoking H&H for a long time can you tell me what you like about it the best. Seeing it's been around for decades it must have something going for it in spite of some of the bad reviews I've read.

bubblehead33

Part of the Furniture Now
Mar 17, 2012
Canada
Hey bear! I haven't smoked H&H but I would think it's like most other tobaccos in that you just have to get the right feel for packing it. I'm still no pro when it comes to packing but I'd like to think I'm improving haha. Hope this was a little bit helpful for you man.

rickpal14

Lifer
Jun 9, 2011
Wish I could help you bearwolf but after 1 bowl the only other place I packed it was into the garbage can!!!! :lol:

kashmir

Lifer
May 17, 2011
Northern New Jersey
Like packing any bowl, I use the gravity feed method. Just insert pinches of tobacco gently one after the other, till the bowl is overflowing, then firmly compress with finger tip. Check draw so its not too tight. Then the Charing light, tamp to a firm flat surface, then light. It's important to dry your tobacco before loading. It's also important, from my point of view, to clench the pipe while smoking. This will insure the pipe doesn't go out, and will train you subconsciously to develop a slow sipping smoking cadence. The cooler the smoulder the more flavorful the smoke.

papipeguy

Lifer
Jul 31, 2010
Bethlehem, Pa.