PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

phil67

Lifer
Dec 14, 2013
Do you pack straight Cavendish different from other tobaccos? I’m relatively new to smoking a pipe; as in I haven’t done so (and did so poorly) about 35 years ago, and then gave it up. Now that I’ve been retired for about six years I decided to give it a go again a few months ago.
I’m just smoking aromatics right now ( tried a Latakia blend - ‘Frog Morton’) and I could not stomach it, much less it’s putrid smell, then again I can’t stand fried liver so to each his own and maybe I’ll give it another go as time goes by, but be that as it may. As it goes now I’ve been smoking Lane 1Q, Captain Black (dark), Lane RLP-6, Lane BCA, Pipeworks Wilke 191 (love it) and their Cherry Cavendish. I don’t seem to have all that much of a problem with the aromatic blends, but when it comes to the straight black Cavendish I find myself constantly having to relight it over and over again, which of course is quite irritating and distracting to the taste, albeit I most definitely like them.
I usually take the straight Cavendish and lay a bowl full out on a piece of paper to dry out for about an hour, but I still have the same problem. Granted, and I’ll freely admit that I still have somewhat of a learning curve to as to how to pack a pipe correctly and consistently, but I can’t for the life of me figure out what the problem is that I’m having with the straight Cavendish? It obviously seems to be a thicker and chunkier cut (not sure if I’m explaining that correctly, but I’m sure you understand). Are there any thoughts, and or ideas from your collective experience as to how a straight black Cavendish should be packed, or for that matter, does it really make any difference?

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
phil67, I think you have the right idea but need to let the Cavendish dry out a little longer, and maybe in