Drucquers Banner

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

addamsruspipe

Part of the Furniture Now
Dec 4, 2016
Albuquerque, NM
Morning all. Found a pipe at Pipes and Cigars that I am liking the look of but it's a type I have no experience with. It's a Butz-Choquin Zebra, and the bowl is a briar insert. So far all my pipes have been cobs and straight briars, nothing with an insert. Is this an ok thing, is it something I should steer clear of. Looking for your shared wisdom on this. Here's the link.

Link

cortezattic

Lifer
Nov 19, 2009
Chicago, IL
Those are visually stunning pipes, and I was surprised to see that the chamber diameters are in the 0.8" range -- a nice departure from B-C's usually cramped interiors (must be a French thing.) The one thing that's a deal breaker for me is that they are drilled for 9mm filters. For me, hard to clean (I won't use a filter or adapter.)
Thanks for bringing this line to our attention. The price is right, and the briar insert issue shouldn't be a problem.

nevadablue

Lifer
Jun 5, 2017
I will ask a question... why can't one make or buy an insert to replace the filter? That would close up that chamber, reducing it to draft hole size. I have several pipes with 9mm filter chambers. I need to look at making an insert or two.
A quick search shows that smokingpipes.com has something. The hole may be a bit large, but this is the idea.
Savinelli_9mm_Pipe_Adapters_front__81437.1423230396.1280.1280.jpg

All of $.85 each.
http://www.tobaccopipes.com/savinelli-9mm-pipe-adapters/
They do also list another insert that appears to have a smaller draft hole.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013