PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

sparrowhawk

Lifer
Jul 24, 2013
Gentlemen,

Again I come to you for your invaluable advice. Could you examine this Nording at SP: http://www.smokingpipes.com/pipes/new/Nording/moreinfo.cfm?product_id=136984

I'm concerned about the size of the bowl. I'm not good at interpreting the numbers involved, but does this pipe seem to have a good sized bowl, comparable to other Nording freehands? The pipe itself seems a little small, but a photo can't really help in this department. Opinions would be greatly appreciated, as I really like the aesthetics of this pipe and the stain, but don't want to make a mistake.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
The 1.63 chamber depth gives you a clue. It's not an extra large bowl, probably a small to medium

Group 4 (about average sized pipe) that is a little heavy for the chamber size. I think it would be

a good smoker, not a good clencher because of the weight, and well made. I find the design timid

compared to some Nordings, maybe just because of the relative small piece of briar, but that's

subjective. The grain and stain and finish are attractive.

jarit

Can't Leave
Jul 2, 2013
I, too, think that's a fairly good sized bowl. Almost 23 mm diameter at the top and 40mm deep would make it about the same size as Dunnie groups 5-6.

Jul 12, 2011
Yep, a nice size chamber there. It would be something I might smoke an English blend in or perhaps a nice Burley or Aro

sfsteves

Lifer
Aug 3, 2013
SF Bay Area
I've got 2 Nordings ... one has a slightly larger bowl, the other is about this same size ... I've got pipes ranging from quite small to quite large and on a 1-6 scale, I'd give this one about a 4 ... it's a very nice looking pipe and is probably a good smoker as others have suggested, but also as noted above, perhaps not a good clencher (if that's important to you) ...

sparrowhawk

Lifer
Jul 24, 2013