PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

travelergypsy

Starting to Get Obsessed
May 15, 2016
I am preparing to order a MM, and a couple ounces of tobacco. Advice on an online venue would be apriciated! Also, I am a brand new pipe smoker. What tobacco would be recommended? (I understand there is an element of personal choice with this. My main concerns are taste and room note. I will worry about finding my perfect strength after I have learned to smoke my pipe well.)
In regards to the pipe: are the hardwood MMs worth entertaining? I'm still new to pipe smoking, and honestly, am somewhat cognizant of my image still... I need help with that. :)

dustmite

Starting to Get Obsessed
Mar 5, 2015
I would recommend getting a straight and bent of whatever style MM floats your boat, and some Carter Hall. Pleasant room note, good taste, and easy to learn with. Pipesandcigars.com and smokingpipes.com are my go-to online shops.

dustmite

Starting to Get Obsessed
Mar 5, 2015
Forgot to add, my MM Country Gentleman that I got in a grab bag of seconds from MM is still my favorite pipe.

pipesofsteele

Lurker
Apr 12, 2016
Western Washington
Smokingpipes.com would be good then, they are 18+. I mainly order from them and get great service. Probably look for a nice aromatic or a ribbon cut Virginia blend. For an aromatic, perhaps try Lane 1-Q, it has a descent, sweet flavor and wonderful aroma. For a Virginia... I would say Orlick Golden Sliced, but that's a flake. You could go for a flake, but a ribbon cut would be easier to start off with. I personally enjoy Hearth & Home Louisiana Red, but that is the only ribbon cut VaPer I've personally tried, all the others are forms of flakes. In regards to Carter Hall, I have not tried it, and I don't usually enjoy OTC blends, but my brother's father in law really enjoys it so it might be wonderful. Hope you end up enjoying whatever you get! :puffy:

tschiraldi

Lifer
Dec 14, 2015
Ohio