PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

hmhaines

Part of the Furniture Now
Sep 5, 2016
CT
Getting ready to try out some Beacon Extra tomorrow (thanks Secret Santa!!!), I was going over the label and noticed that, quite curiously, the Perique is described as being aromatic. This is something I've noticed before, the word aromatic being used to describe the flavor or a component of an apparently non-aromatic tobacco. Has anyone else seen this?
If, indeed, Beacon Extra is not an aromatic, why would the term be on the label at all?

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
I've seen aromatic used to describe non-flavored blending tobaccos and assumed it is just an inexact use of tobacco related language. Most pipe people, even many in the business, are largely self-taught, so the definitions sometimes get shuffled a little.

Chasing Embers

Captain of the Black Frigate
Nov 12, 2014
Older tobacco books differentiate the use of aromatic and flavored. Aromatic being a tobacco's natural aroma, and flavored being what most call aromatics now.

wilson

Apr 17, 2013
I've seen it as well. I think, though I'm not the tobacco blend historian, that in England, where they were (still are?) limited in what they can add to tobacco, they would sometimes use the word "aromatic" to describe oriental leaf and perique. In contrast, in the US aromatic tends to mean tobacco with flavorings and scents added to the tobacco towards the end of their processing.

retrogasm

Might Stick Around
Aug 15, 2014
Germans will use 'aromatisch' sometimes in their blend descriptions while denoting the smell of the tobacco, and sometimes that carries over as 'aromatic' in the english description.

mackeson

Mar 29, 2016
technically perique, latakia, orientals ... are aromatic or flavoring/condiment tobaccos (at least as far as I understand).

warren

Lifer
Sep 13, 2013
Foothills of the Chugach Range, AK