PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

ecandy

Lurker
Oct 27, 2015
Okay here it goes I have smoked cigarettes for years since it is so expensive I want to try something different I am a beginner I would like to know which is the best tobacco and pipe to buy .For A Beginner

prairiedruid

Lifer
Jun 30, 2015
Easy one first.....buy cob pipes; they smoke great and are inexpensive.
Tobacco choice is tougher.....what are your tastes....looking for something sweet; something savory, something to replace the nicotine of the cigarettes?
May want to look at a sampler pack from one of the online retailers or look at bulk tobacco offerings where you can choose an ounce of whatever sounds good to you.
My recommendations would be 1-2 ounces of Lane 1-Q, some Dunhill MM 965 and/or Early Morning Pipe, and look at some of Peter Stokkebye's bulk offerings.

rfernand

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 2, 2015
Welcome!
@prairiedruid makes a great point suggesting a corncob pipe. Cheap, low maintenance, and can help you determine if you like this hobby or not.
The hobby is a lot about trying different blends. You will find one "best of" recommendation from each of us, which means... there is more than one "best of". With that in mind, there are at least three broad families of tobacco to explore:
- Strongly Flavored (think "plums" or "maple")

- Pure tobacco taste

- "Spicy" tobacco (flavor is added by fermenting / smoking the leaf, plus many other tricks).
You will hear about Aromatics, Virginia-based, Burley-based, English, and Orientals in due time. You will also learn not all pipe tobacco is presented equally (you'll also hear about flakes and plugs and ribbon cuts).
The majority of pipe smokers enjoys more than one "class" of tobacco, perhaps favoring one over the others. Keep that in mind as you explore.
For starters, of the three classes I proposed, which one sounds like something you'd like to try?

newbroom

Lifer
Jul 11, 2014
Florida