PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

bamacfa

Lurker
Oct 28, 2012
Alabama
I am new to pipe smoking and love the flavor and smell of boswells northwoods. I would like to try some other tobaccos that would be similar to this, any suggestions. Thanks
Edit: Moved to Pipe Tobacco Discussion, L.

lonestar

Lifer
Mar 22, 2011
Edgewood Texas
John ! Glad you made it over here. John is a woodworking friend of mine, and an all around great guy. I've never tried Northwoods, but figured you guys would have some good suggestions for him.

johnnyxpipe

Starting to Get Obsessed
Aug 22, 2011
I've tried many tobaccos but none of the Boswell blends they are on the top of my list.

smokey422

Can't Leave
Nov 20, 2011
I've smoke quite a few English blends and a fair amount of Northwoods and can't say that I've found any other English that compares to it. Nice mild English flavor with a fairly pleasant room aroma. It's kind of pricey (about $60/lb.) but the Boswells only use top quality tobaccos and it shows. You can buy small amounts to try it out or ask for a sample if you are ordering something else.

Smokey

johnnyxpipe

Starting to Get Obsessed
Aug 22, 2011
I love sending samples, once I get some Northwoods to try I'll send you some samples that compare to it.

taerin

Lifer
May 22, 2012
Just get some pine tree sap, dilute it with water, and spray it on any heavy latakia English blend, presto! A Northwoods-simular blend!

doctorthoss

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 6, 2011
You picked one of the best possible English blends to start out with!
If you like Northwoods, try Maltese Falcon, Odyssey, and Chelsea Morning from GL Pease; Larry's Blend from Hearth and Home; Cordial and Epiphany from Cornell and Diehl; or Frog Morton, Legends, Wilderness or British Woods by McClelland.

smokey422

Can't Leave
Nov 20, 2011