PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

pleiades

Lurker
Aug 21, 2013
I'm new to this hobby and I can't figure out how a pipe smoker can ingest nicotine. I'm puffing like a little dragon, not inhaling. So how on earth does the nicotine get into my system?

pylorns

Lifer
Aug 20, 2013
Austin, Texas
www.thepipetool.com
Your mouth absorbs the nicotine, but it doesn't absorb it as well as say your lungs. Cigar tobacco and *some pipe tobacco is an akalyine, so it doesn't do well with your lungs which is one of the reasons you shouldn't inhale. You'll find the burleys are cross tobacco and used in cigarettes as well as pipes. (keep in mind your cigarettes have filters too...)
Cigarettes were made from a special tobacco that tends to me more acidic and thus when you inhale it you don't cough like a demon - and allows nicotine to be absorbed more readily.
From here http://www.tobacconistuniversity.org/tobacco-college/cigarettes1.asp :