PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

dotdotdot

Lurker
Nov 29, 2013
Hi Guys.

I want to get into pipe smoking...but I am completely new to this.

I like the history behind Missouri Meerschaum and I want to start with a couple of theirs.
I'm slightly confused as to what the difference between a filtered and a non filtered pipe are. I like the patriot and MacArthur from Missouri Meershaum. Both are unfiltered.

Are there health benefits or is mostly for a softer smoke? Seems hard to find a straight answer online.

Can you put a filter in an unfiltered pipe? or put a filtered bit in any cob?
Also, is most pipe tobacco organic/natural or is it something special?

I'd like to start smoking organic tobacco.
Finally, what are the main differences between straight and bent pipes? advantages/disadvantages?
Thanks guys!

Look forward to learning here and eventually contributing!

judcole

Lifer
Sep 14, 2011
Detroit
There are no health benefits to filters, AFAIK. They are more popular in Europe then here. If I get a cob that has one, I take it out and throw it away. It makes a drier smoke, but interferes with flavor, IMO.
I am not aware of anyone making organic pipe tobacco. Not even sure there are any standards for such. Premium pipe tobacco does not have the additives that mass market cigarettes do.
Straight vs bent is all a matter of personal preference.

dotdotdot

Lurker
Nov 29, 2013
Thanks for the fast response!

I thought I had heard of "organic" tobacco somewhere for some reason.

pstlpkr

Lifer
Dec 14, 2009
Birmingham, AL
Tobacco as an "organic" crop probably wouldn't be profitable...

It's my understanding (and I may be completely incorrect), that tobacco sucks the nitrogen out of the soil very aggressively, and it must be fertilized because of that fact.

phred

Lifer
Dec 11, 2012