PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

savab

Lurker
Feb 16, 2018
Hello,

I'm an absolute newbie (deeply in my forties), never smoked a pipe before (vivid cigar smoker). Decided to give it a try and am about to buy my first pipes. Want to buy two, three decent pipes and got a budget of around $ 200. What got my attention so far (after looking at websites and such) is Peterson, really like the "classical" shapes and finishes, thinking of getting one "106" billiard and one "999" Rhodesian. Any comments, suggestions, etc. are really appreciated! Thanks!

Apr 26, 2012
Washington State
Peterson pipes are nice, as well as Savinelli and Stanwell. You can find a couple of nice pipes for your budget by these manufacturers as well as others. I suggest looking around until you find the pipe(s) that call to you. When you find it, buy it.
Welcome to the forum!

Jan 8, 2013
Both the 106 and 999 are great Peterson shapes, although I reach more often for one of my 106 than my 999. Not that the 999 isn't enjoyed. Welcome to the forum Savab! :puffy:

deathmetal

Lifer
Jul 21, 2015
never smoked a pipe before
My advice to all new smokers is to get a few cobs and some Carter Hall, Prince Albert, and Five Brothers. Get your technique down before you explore further, because only then do you really know what you like.

savab

Lurker
Feb 16, 2018
Thank you, gentlemen, for your prompt, encouraging and informative responses. I've read a few topics about "what kind of pipe to buy or not as a newbie", and couldn't help but noticed some strong resentments about buying new "Peterson"'s. People are mentioning quality issues, dip staining (I've got no idea why this is bad), etc. Am I making a big mistake considering Peterson? I really like the designs and finishes, the "outward appearance" of the company is good, and I can afford their products......Did they drop the quality lately?

jazz

Part of the Furniture Now
Feb 17, 2014
UK