PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

gaetano

Lurker
Sep 1, 2014
Hi all, I am a newbie to the pipe smoking community. I started in May of 2014. I purchased a Capri briar wood pipe from a local shop and a pouch of inexpensive tobacco. I love the feel and taste. Can anyone recommend some good tobacco and a better pipe? I like sweet tobacco. There are so many brands out there that it is difficult for a newbie to pick from.

Thanks for your help.

PS if there is anything else I should know, I would appreciate it.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
If you want a good name brand briar pipe, but still at a budget price, Pipesandcigars.com has Stanwell

Brush Black and Brushed Brown pipes in a good variety of shapes at $49.95, just for one example. Many

other possibilities, and of course there are always Missouri Meerschaum corncob pipes, which are pretty

popular on Forums. For really sweet tobacco, which I don't use, Forums people seem to like (spelling)

Molto Dolce from Sutliff's, which is really sweet but tasty if you like sweet. A somewhat more refined

aromatic that I like is Queen Anne's Revenge from Altadis, which is burley, Virginia, Cavendish and rum

flavor, and is named after Blackbeard's flagship. It tastes good and has a pretty good room note (smell).

Welcome to Forums.

agnosticpipe

Lifer
Nov 3, 2013
In the sticks in Mississippi