PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

dhwty8

Lurker
Jan 1, 2015
I'm new to pipe smoking, I absolutely love it. Fortunately, I've received and purchases two pre-carbonized/estate pipes, but I have also have an unused pipe that needs to be broken in. I'm afraid to go forward with it.
I feel like I either can't keep the pipe lit or I'm burning to hot. I've read all over the forums extensively and watched countless YouTube videos and feel like I'm getting decent pack all things considered.
I have a dry mouth, but seem to get the gurgle with every bowl.
Does anybody have any tips for me? Other than the above problems, I'm absolutely loving the pipe. I'm just anxious to get past the amateur foibles.
Thanks in advance!!

papajoe

Starting to Get Obsessed
Sep 9, 2014
Welcome to the forum.

I had the same problem when I started smoking pipes, and sometimes still have them. What made the difference for me was practice. It seems to me you still have problem with packing Keep on practicing. Remember how you pack and how it smoked and work from there. You know what they say: practice makes perfect. You'll find what works best for you eventually.

easterntraveler

Part of the Furniture Now
Dec 29, 2012
Do not worry about keeping your pipe lit right now. Moisture is your problem. Try packing the bowl a little tighter, dry the tobacco a little more than normal, and puff SLOW. This has helped my moisture problems out. Also use a pipe with a smaller bowl in the beginning. Easier to work with, however this is my opinion.

Chasing Embers

Captain of the Black Frigate
Nov 12, 2014