Newbie flailing on whether to smoke or not!

SmokingPipes.com Updates

36 Fresh Estate Pipes
12 Fresh Mark Tinsky Pipes
48 Fresh Savinelli Pipes
36 Fresh Tsuge Pipes
2 Fresh Chris Asteriou Pipes

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

fella55

Lurker
Sep 29, 2015
First off, I am a newbie to this site and this is my first post. I would thank you in advance for your patience with me for what has turned out to be a tremendously long winded and rambling post. However, I just wanted to get my thoughts down in writing it in order to hopefully get some clarity of mind.
I am in somewhat odd place. I very much love pipes. There is something about the craftsmanship of a fine pipe that I find very attractive. I am drawn to collecting them. I also love the smell of unburned and burned pipe tobacco. However, the taste of burning tobacco is something that I struggle with. It just tastes like burnt “stuff” in my mouth, and the aftertaste just seems to linger and linger. I also don’t like the smell on my clothes etc. This has been the case with cigars, and thus far it is true with pipe tobacco. To be fair I am an extremely light smoker. We are talking about a cigar or two a year at special occasions if that. With pipe smoking it would be once or twice a month at most. From what I have read, it seems to take patience and time to learn how to enjoy the flavor of pipe tobacco. Both from the perspective of learning how to pack and smoke a pipe, as well as developing a palate for the actual flavors.