PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

uchiacon

Lurker
Apr 25, 2013
Hey Guys,
I'm a beginner pipe smoker situated in New Zealand. I First got into tobacco with cigars and have enjoyed tobacco products a few times a week ever since. Coincidentally, cigars here are in low demand, low supply and high price, and never stored in a proper humidor. $25USD easy for a standard cigar of low/medium quality.
I want to switch over to pipes because I like a bit of nicotine every now and then and I don't want to have to finish a whole cigarillo or cigar.
Problem is there is only one online store in NZ for pipe tobacco. Get a load of this; between 70NZD and 90NZD (60-77USD) per 35 or 50g quantity of tobacco. That's right, 66-70USD per pouch or tin of tobacco. And it aint high quality brands, 10 brands in total and only 6 are kept in stock. NZ customs charges 700NZD (600USD) per KG of tobacco products +15% sales tax and a $50USD handling fee for all shipments requiring processing.
We used to have a tobacconist in the city but that was flattened in the 2011 feb earthquake and I dont know where he's gone.
To the big question, would anyone know someone or a supplier that would be able to help me out by marking shipments as gifts or something similar? I smoke very little as mentioned above and I really can't afford $70NZD+ for a pouch of tobacco that I haven't tried before.
Thanks

teufelhund

Lifer
Mar 5, 2013
St. Louis, MO
Could always grow your own... Seeds are cheap. I did the math and my little 18'x8" garden could easily net me 60+ ounces a year. The downside; This requires work and what you grow you can't really smoke until they've hung for a year and then you still have to figure out how to make a blend you like. Like my grandaddy said, "Iffin youse can grow tomaters; youse can grow tobacco. Itsa hardy plant, just needs da water."