PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

pipeude28

Might Stick Around
Jun 14, 2016
I am interested in purchasing a Meerschaum for the 1st time, but unsure which retailer I should buy from. I don't want it to be too expensive because I'm just starting out. Any ideas on retailers?? Thanks

dottiewarden

Lifer
Mar 25, 2014
Toronto
Check the sites sponsors.
4noggins.com

Al Pascia

CigarAndPipes.com

Cup O' Joes

Danish Pipe Shop

Lane Limited / STG

Milan Tobacconists

Missouri Meerschaum

Mkelaw-Pipes.com

Mr. Brog Pipes

Pipes2Smoke.com

PipesandCigars.com

PipeStud.com

Savinelli Pipes / Iwan Ries

SmokingPipes.com

andvary

Might Stick Around
Aug 29, 2016
Well, I suppose the first thing to say is avoid anything that looks even remotely "Asian" and mass-produced. China makes everything nowadays, even "meerschaum pipes", but we can only guess, what material are they actually using (pressed meerschaum, if you are lucky).

I'd personally go with AKB Meerschaum. They are an established brand from Turkey (the primary source of meerschaum nowadays), they use block meerschaum, and their range has both classical shapes and the elaborate carvings. For starters one of their cheaper offerings seems to be the optimum variant. They can be found at SmokingPipes.com, for example.

You may also try Strambach, an Austrian company. As far as I understand, they use not the naturally mined "block meerschaum", but their proprietary "cultured meerschaum", i.e. artificially grown meerschaum (or maybe it's just pressed meerschaum with European standards of manufacturing and quality control, who knows...).

Other variant for cheap meerschaum is finding an estate on Ebay, but it's always a gamble.

rfernand

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 2, 2015
Meerqueen roams the forums on occasion - check their stuff out.

jitterbugdude

Part of the Furniture Now
Mar 25, 2014