Pipes Magazine » Pipe Smoking Basics & Beginner Questions

Tags:  No tags yet. 

New to Forums....New Tobacco Reccommendation

(13 posts)
  1. trucha

trucha

Login to Send PM

Hi I'm new to the forums. I've been smoking a pipe off and on for about 5 years. When I first started I heard that you should stick to one kind of tobacco so I tried a few and liked 1q the best and have stuck to that and never branched out. I've recently moved and don't like my new B&M so I started poking around on the web for pipe info. I am blown away by all the great info, you tube videos, review sites and forums. It has made pipe smoking a lot more enjoyable. Now I've decided to give tinned tobacco a try which I never knew existed until a few weeks ago. I puchased some Peterson's Irish Flake and some Balkan Sobaranie. I love the Balkan altough I can't seem to find anymore of it, The irish is good (I love the flake form and the smell). However, the nic is way too high for me. Anyone care to reccommend any tobaccos to try that are low in N but not aromatics like the 1q (I can't really smoke it anymore now that I've tried the other tobaccos.

Posted 1 year ago #
  2. User has not uploaded an avatar

Anonymous

Unregistered

Login to Send PM

Hello and welcome Trucha!

If you liked the Balkan Sobranie, I'd recommend Dunhill Early Morning Pipe and Hearth & Home's Black House. Both are better IMHO, and a good deal easier to find. Both are available in tins and bulk.

http://pipesandcigars.com/blpito.html

http://pipesandcigars.com/dunibutobytg.html#.UQRKeb_LcxE

http://pipesandcigars.com/blpito.html

Posted 1 year ago #
  3. judcole

Jud

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

Welcome aboard.

Dunno why anyone advised you to stick to one tobacco - that's no fun!

If you like the new Balkan Sobranie - which I have not tried - you might also enjoy blends like H&H Larry's Blend, Balkan Sasieni - which I used to smoke a ton of,but have not in a while - or McClelland's Blue Mountain.