PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

rolltide9

Lurker
May 11, 2015
Folks,
I am brand new (I joined the site 5 minutes ago) to this community and I am a complete amateur pipe smoker. I have been smoking pipes since February and the only pipe I own is a cheap little Missouri Meerschaum Cherry Cob. I am looking to upgrade soon but I'm a college student on a tight budget who would like to get the best smoke for around $50. I have smoked out of a Peterson Standard System before and loved how smooth the smoke was, but I can't afford one of my own right now. Any suggestions on awesome pipes for around $50?
Also, I haven't smoked much of a variety of tobaccos. I have smoked 1Q, Black Cavendish, and some cheap aromatics but I am looking to get into some better tobaccos, specifically non-aromatics. What do y'all suggest?
I absolutely love smoking pipe tobacco but I can't seem to keep my smoke cool. How can I fix this?
Thank you for y'all's time and I am excited to become a part of this community.

Chasing Embers

Captain of the Black Frigate
Nov 12, 2014
1 Welcome!

2 Try a Rossi pipe

3 Carter Hall is a good introduction to non aros

4 Cool smoke? Pack looser and slow down.

5 Enjoy!

rolltide9

Lurker
May 11, 2015
Thank you for your advice! I have always had a hard time slowing down when I smoke. I smoked cigars (still do on occasion) prior to pipes and always smoked my sticks way too fast. I have some Orlik Golden Sliced on the way thanks to a friend and am interested in trying it out.

cigrmaster

Lifer
May 26, 2012
Sarasota Florida
Welcome to the site. Packing too loosely can lead to a hot smoking pipe with a loss of flavor. Most new comers pack too lose. When checking your draw you want to feel some resistance. You also may need to dry out your tobacco some as many aromatics are too humid.

buroak

Lifer
Jul 29, 2014