PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

charlie

Might Stick Around
Apr 16, 2011
Louisiana, USA
Hi, I'm new to pipes, but I've smoked cigars. I enjoy the full bodied, robust flavors, ones with strong tobaccos rather than the mild ones that most females around here tend to prefer. I was told to smoke a mild tobacco given to me by my local tobacconist for 2 weeks to let my mouth acclimate before trying the more flavorful blends, but I'm ready to start looking for something new and english blends seem to be what I might like in taste. What should I try?

hobie1dog

Lifer
Jun 5, 2010
Cornelius, NC
welcome to the forum..where do I start?....there are so many:
Boswells-Northwoods,Mild English, Bear Blend

Penzance-my favorite baccy in the world so far

Margate

Commonwealth

Peterson-Irish Oak

Dunhill-Early Morning Pipe

Presbyterian

Pembroke-flavored with Cognac

Uhls-Bishops Move
someone elses turn now.

charlie

Might Stick Around
Apr 16, 2011
Louisiana, USA
Thanks, I definitely will try some of those. The Northwoods, Penzance, Irish Oak, and Presbyterian look especially appealing.

forsooth

Starting to Get Obsessed
Feb 18, 2011
Hi, Charlie -- "Light" English blends are out there. I'm not an expert, but, for example, Tinder Box has "Coventry." Perhaps one of the pros could help out with naming some of the lighter English blends. As an aromatic tobacco smoker, I've had a rough time with the English blends I've tried thus far -- tongue bite.

papipeguy

Lifer
Jul 31, 2010
Bethlehem, Pa.
A nice entry to the English blends is Iwan Ries' Spilman Mixture. Very nice and middle of the road in strength. Their Distinguished Gentleman also looks intruiging.

lukester

Might Stick Around
Jan 12, 2011
I would have to say G. L. Pease Maltese Falcon, it was the first one I tried and liked

sirbogglesworth

Starting to Get Obsessed
Mar 20, 2011
Welcome Charlie! :D