PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

flux

Lurker
Jul 25, 2013
First of all, hello everybody! I've been lurking, reading and learning a lot from everybody here for some time now, but this is my first post. I've got a question for y'all.
I'm very new to the hobby--probably about a month in now. I've been smoking a used cheap briar a friend gave me, rotating it with a cob. It's been working well for me. But now that I've fallen in love with pipe smoking and am certain there's no going back I decided that it was time to buy myself a little early birthday present :D I ended up with a Peterson's 2012 Pipe of the Year. It's beautiful, I love it; I've had two bowls out of it, and it seems to smoke well; it feels magnificent in my hand. The only thing is that it whistles. Anything but the most gentle, mild kiss elicits a high-pitched, irritating whistling. It even gets the attention of my dog!
Is this normal with a new pipe? Will it go away with time? Is there anything I can do to mitigate the sound?
Thanks in advance for your advice.
Oh, and it's a pleasure making all your acquaintances :wink:

smokeybear

Lifer
Dec 21, 2012
Brampton,Ontario,Canada
Interesting. First off Welcome to the forum you made a right decision joining us on here there is no better place to learn and share your pipe experience.
I had a Peterson with a P-lip that did the exact same thing, and i think it had something to do with my packing of the tobacco in the pipe. I found when the Tobacco was packed in to loosely i would have access air flowing into the shank and causing a whistle like you described. Of course i may be wrong it was just my observation at the time but try different packing methods and see if that helps.
Andrew

flux

Lurker
Jul 25, 2013
Thanks for your reply, and thanks for your welcome.
I don't think it's a packing issue, as I get the same sound when the bowl is empty and while I'm smoking.

smokeybear

Lifer
Dec 21, 2012
Brampton,Ontario,Canada