PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.
Oct 31, 2014
Ok, I will start by asking you to bare with me as I fumble around trying to describe what I am asking for. I'm brand new to pipe smoking and don't have a local store that I can just go browse and figure out what the blends I am looking for.
I'm looking for suggestions of quality tobacco aromatic that has what I call the "traditional pipe tobacco smell", like I remember the old guys smoking when I was a kid.
My first tobacco I bought was in a glass jar and labelled "Irish Mist". No idea of the brand or the blend. It has that scent that I am looking for. But the quality isn't all that great. Not terrible, but it definitely has room to be better.
I got a couple of tins of Drew estate and a tin of Sultliff aros yesterday. They are a much better quality of tobacco, and the Drew Estate smoked very well. However the scents have an almost sickly sweet flavor, and fruitiness to them. I know I will enjoy them, but I would like to find something with the more "musky" (?) smell of the Irish Mist I have now. My buddy has a blend from the same shop called "highland mist" that is in the same vein.
Can anyone help me with some recommendations for quality stuff that has similar flavorings?

May 3, 2010
Las Vegas, NV
I would check out some of the OTC blends like Captain Black, Carter Hall, Prince Albert etc. Those will probably be what you're looking for as most grandpa's just swung in a local CVS (which they can't do anymore, piss off CVS lol) and grabbed a pouch of on the way home from work.
I'd also suggest trying out either Lane's 1Q or RLP-6. Solid aros that aren't fruity. Good quality leaf with a nice light top dressing that you can puff on all day long.

zekest

Lifer
Apr 1, 2013
Try:
  • Lane 1-Q

Captain Black, any color pouch except red (Captain Black Cherry is ungood)

Prince Albert, Carter Hall, Sir Walter Raleigh, Half and Half

Lane HGL (English/Latakia)

phil67

Lifer
Dec 14, 2013