PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

matthewcj3

Lurker
Oct 5, 2018
Hello, I’m fairly new to smoking a pipe. I consider my cigarette tubes paper pipes until I get a decent begginer’s pipe. I own a Dr. Grabow, however, I am finding it impossible to enjoy any tobacco that I put in it. I am using my briar without a filter which leaves too much of an open draw. I did try to use their filters but I found that they do indeed mute the flavor and imparts a flavor of its own. I know that a cob pipe would be an excellent choice for a beginner. My biggest issue is not a filter vs nonfilter, my issue is the draw. Honestly, I do want to smoke nonfilter since the only “hassle” is using pipe cleaners. Does a nonfilter pipe have a tighter draw than a filtered pipe without filter? I have seen this specific question asked. If I have to use a filter, I want to use a balsam wood filter from what I have read. How many cob bowls will one filter last? Would an adapter/converter work in a cob? If so, would that create a tighter draw? I think that is all my specific questions about a pipe.
The tobacco that got me to quit inhaling so much is D&R Ramback Balkan and Ramback Gold. I never tasted tobacco that was so flavorful without chemicals, and no toppings (I don’t think that there is anyways). I inhale on occasion because I am a former cigarette smoker. I have been rolling, and stuffing tubes, for the last six years. I feel like that this tobacco would have won me over to pipes years ago. How much better can Oriental tobacco get? D&R Ramback is delicious. I’m sorry that I am rambling...

mikethompson

Lifer
Jun 26, 2016
Near Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Welcome Matthew! This is a very helpful and knowledgeable forum. That said, let me have a go at your questions:
I do want to smoke nonfilter since the only “hassle” is using pipe cleaners.