PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

oldbriarpipes

Lurker
Sep 15, 2018
Hello from NC, my name is Chris I have been smoking pipes and collecting for 5 years now.

I love to restore estate pipes. I love the rush of a pipe hunt and find. I like going through abused and old pipes and making them usable and as close to like new as possible again; I enjoy restoring ALMOST as much as smoking a pipe. My favorite pipe brands are Castello, pre 65 Sasieni, Dunhill, Charatan, GBD, pre 1980 Comoys, Ashton, Willmer, and all the "seconds" from these companies as well. I really like any and all pipes my favorite are classical shapes like the old english companies made/make. I also love a craggy, deep blast on pipes like old Ashton pebblegrains and Dunhill shells. My favorite tobacco is McCranies Red Ribbon. I also smoke many english/oriental mixtures. I used to buy one or two tins at a time and smoke through them before buying more; with my favorite companies blends going out of production I "stock up" if I find something I like. Ive been trying different tobaccos and enjoy G.L. Pease english mixtures, Sutliffs 515RC, and LJ Peretti's Royal mixture. Tobaccos I would like to try would be Buteras Pelican/ Kingfisher, smokers haven Exotique, Peretti's Tashkent/Cuban, and more of G.L. Pease English. Hope you all have a great week and talk to you soon! Thanks for reading....

Chris

techie

Part of the Furniture Now
Jul 20, 2018
Welcome! I've been smoking pipe for about six weeks now. Folks here have been a great help. Lots to learn.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
Yes, welcome to both! oldbriar', it sounds like you are something of an experienced piper and restorationist; I'll look forward to your comments, questions, and information. And techie, if you have questions, ask away.

M

mothernaturewilleatusallforbreakfast

Great introduction and welcome. :puffy:

bnichols23

Lifer
Mar 13, 2018
SC Piedmont