PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

dylanstaton2

Lurker
Mar 1, 2016
So I cut it into cubes and whatnot waiting for it to dry for about a half hour but really can't seem to get it to stay lit. It tastes amazing from what I got from it so far and is going to be one of my favorites. I'm new to smoking pipes and ordered a lot of different blends and I seem to be enjoying VaPer tobaccos and Virginia all together. The aeros I got are OK but I seem to be reaching for dunhil nightcap the most. I was intimated by the flake but decided to try it today. What's your guys technique to keep it lit and have a full enjoyment of your tobacco for flakes

peteguy

Lifer
Jan 19, 2012
Dry it 3x longer than you think it needs.
I open a tin and leave it in the tin with the lid back on for weeks or even a month. I have heard good things about the microwave technique but have failed to try it yet.

M

mothernaturewilleatusallforbreakfast

I would rub it out instead of trying to cube cut it. You've got to get at it a little since the flakes are usually thick, dense, and moist. I use my palms a lot and then the heels of my thumbs to rub it out. Dry it out for a little while (possibly overnight), and then pack loosely, and of course smoke slowly. I would get yourself comfortable with getting a rubbed out flake to burn properly before I start cube cutting and/or stuffing full flakes. You don't want to fight with it for it to give you a good smoke. The flavor is plenty there with FVF even when it's rubbed out. So no worries there... good luck and enjoy.

rhoadsie

Can't Leave
Dec 24, 2013
Virginia, USA
There are a lot of YouTube videos with a flake tobacco packing search.
SPC has this video...
https://www.smokingpipes.com/smokingpipesblog/single.cfm/post/spc-university-how-pack-flake-tobacco

settersbrace

Lifer
Mar 20, 2014