PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

geirove

Starting to Get Obsessed
Nov 10, 2014
To the guys who has been storing tobacco in mylar bags;
Have you encountered any problems yet? How long have you been aging the tobacco for?
Ive bought some bags and want to transfer some tobacco cause im running out of space

curl

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 29, 2014
I just started using them because guys here said they were good for long term use.

I don't vacuum out the air from the bags; I just use a hot iron to seal the bags.

I put pouches of Country Gentleman and American Pride in them, and Carter Hall; square tins, too.

I have a few pounds of bulk tobacco in them, too.

I'll let you know in a couple years.

woodsroad

Lifer
Oct 10, 2013
SE PA USA
I've been experimenting with Mylar bags for tobacco storage for the past three years or so. Mylar, used in a laminate with other plastics and foil, can provide an absolute moisture, oxygen and light barrier. The quality of Mylar-laminate bags however varies considerably. I suspect that some of the cheaper bags don't contain much, if any Mylar. My observations:
1) The thicker the bag, the better. 4 or 5 mil is what you want for long-term storage.
2) The Ziploc seal is the weak link in the chain. Some bags seal well initially, but all bags will leak over time. More so if they are opened closed more than a few times.
3) The cheap ESD, transparent Mylar laminate bags are great for short-term storage, not so good in the long-term. It's the zip seal that fails. I put up some blends two years ago in cheap ESD bags, and opened them last month. Some were still perfect, others bone dry. Bad zip seals.
4) Your best bet is to repackage your baccy into 50gr. amounts, then heat seal the bag. That eliminates long-term zip seal problems.
5) Keep in mind that the FoodSaver-type vacuum bags aren't Mylar laminates.