PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

rigmedic1

Lifer
May 29, 2011
I have never done a review on the forum before, but I have been really impressed with this tobacco. Several pioes have offered their lives to help me try this, and I have been getting a host of different impressions of it. So here it is:
First smoke was in a Stanwell Bamboo, that I typically smoke Cairo in: first light was initially spicy, then the bready red Virginia taste dominated to the end of the bowl. I merely folded the flakes lengthwise and inserted them into the chamber. Was reminiscent of McClelland 5100.
The second smoke was in my Rattray's craggy root bent pot with a 9mm filter: I got the same spiciness as the first time, and the bread taste was more pronounce. Otherwise, the experience was very similar to the first bowl.
Third bowl was in my Neerup Basic bent brandy, using the fold and twist method I heard Brian Levine describe on the podcast from Halloween. The Neerup is a VaPer dedicated pipe: this time, I got a pronounced spiciness and raisin aroma, bready at first and then citrus notes appeared midway through the bowl. The spiciness and citrus alternated and mixed with the bread taste, much more complex a smoke in my opinion. I could still detect the red Virginias throughout the smoke, but the citrus and spice would alternate and meld with the bread taste all the way through to the end. The retro hale was an awesome red Virginia and Perique raisin note that was just scrumptious.
The fourth rendition was in a Ligne Bretagne that had only been smoked once before, with HH Acadian Perique. Here I had a repeat of the first experience. The red Virginia dominated, with a slight spiciness.
The fifth smoke (now) is in a Paykoc meer bent calabash. The citrus notes seemed to come out more, and the spiciness is persistent with the red Virginia coming out now that I am halfway through.