PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

bphilli75

Starting to Get Obsessed
Apr 27, 2013
Well I'll be darned. Why do I say that? I'm amazed at how much I enjoyed this $3 pouch of tobacco. Thanks to all you fine folks on this forum for the introduction. Here's where I'm coming from...

I'm still a newbie, been smoking a pipe for a little over three years now. My very modest "cellar" consists of 1Q, MM 965, Escudo Navy Deluxe, Frog Morton's Cellar, Dan's Blue Note and a bulk blend from my local B&M called Closest to Captain Black.

After seeing so many positive comments about Carter Hall, I picked up a little pouch a few days ago. I was immediately pleased with the simple aesthetic of the "luxury pouch," and when I stuck my nose into that little pouch and took a deep, slow whiff, I was greeted by a very nice, sweet, simple tobacco aroma. Wow, this is nice.

Again, thanks to my forum friends' many comments about the pleasure of Carter Hall in a cob, I loaded my Missouri Meerschaum with a couple generous pinches and headed for the porch.

I have always felt a mild frustration at what seemed to me an inability to really taste the different tobaccos I've tried. With 965, of course, I can taste the Latakia, and with some blends, I get a spicy, peppery aftertaste, but most of my experience of tobacco to this point has been of the olfactory sort. Well not so with Carter Hall. Especially with the first half of each bowl, I get a really nice, buttery, nutty, sweet flavor. The retrohale yields no nasal burn at all, and the nutty sweet aroma is simple, yet very nice.
Lately, in another thread, I expressed an issue I have had with requiring many relights and my desire to experiment with different drying methods. Well, with the CH right out of the pouch, I need only two relights after I got it going. Some occasional light tamping was all that was needed.