(7 posts)
  • Started 6 years ago by undecagon
  • Latest reply from hauntedmyst
  1. undecagon

undecagon

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

Hey everybody.

Well as I've mentioned before, I'm in my first year of Graduate School at Roosevelt University's Chicago College for Performing Arts getting my Master's in Percussion Performance. I'm playing Vibraphone in the Swing Combo here, which is directed by Paul Wertico! He was the drummer with the Pat Metheny Group if you aren't familiar with him. Also, my vibraphone instructor is Ed Harrison, who is currently the Timpanist for the Lyric Opera. Suffice to say I am very happy with what's going on at school. The steel band I'm in is also going very well lately, and we are planning our first Pan Festival for the Great Lakes area for this coming April. We have been contacted by a group from Canada, so our first festival is now an international festival! Very cool for us.

Anyway, in the past, anytime I've talked about playing, people have asked for me to post up when/where I have shows. I am still working on a personal website, but I did launch a musician facebook page. If you are interested feel free to check it out.

Edit: Removed link, L.

"I said NO camels, that's FIVE camels...can't you count?!"
    AJHvibes.com
    Posted 6 years ago #
  2. photoman13

photoman13

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

Man that sounds like a really cool graduate program. Chicago alone is an amazing town. I wish I was closer so I could come see one of your shows.

Posted 6 years ago #
  3. baronsamedi

baronsamedi

Black House Whore

Login to Send PM

Wow! That's impressive! I have a 2 year music degree. My music was banned in Waco, Texas for a while. Shows the difference in quality of education there! Actually, my bass teacher is the son of country fiddle legend Johnny Gimble. Don't know of he will claim me if you ask him though. Teaching me in rock ensemble ended him up with bypass surgery.