Pipes Magazine » General Pipe Smoking Discussion

Tags:  No tags yet. 

My Mason Jars are Already Sealing!

(21 posts)
  1. zitotczito

zitotczito

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

Have read much about using Mason jars for storage, I have been doing so for 3 months and of the 22 jars, half have now already sealed themselves so they no longer make the "cricket" sound when I press on the top. Am I just lucky or does this happen fairly fast?

Posted 4 years ago #
  2. mrenglish

mrenglish

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

It really depends on the tobacco and how full it is. I have some that have been in jars for awhile that have not sealed yet but most have. I will be sitting here and then hear a pop as they seal. Its a comforting feeling though.

Michael
    Posted 4 years ago #
  3. cortezattic

Cortez

A part of the problem since he ...

Login to Send PM

I hear an occasional pop from the 12 cases of jars in my cellar. No tellin' what percentage that comes to.
    Is that suction important for aging? I've opened many jars that had not yet sealed, and the tobacco seemed OK.

I find myself sitting idly on the line dividing past and future,
    as if I could kill time without injuring eternity. -- Thoreau
    Posted 4 years ago #
  4. anthonyrosenthal74

anthonyrosenthal74

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM